The first Sea Cadet unit was established in 1854 at Whitstable in Kent, created by communities wanting to give young people instruction on a naval theme. Traditionally old seafarers provided training while local businessmen funded the Unit Headquarters.

The tradition of community - based Sea Cadet Units continues today with 400 across the UK each with charitable status enabling them to raise funds to meet their running costs. All Units are members of the Sea Cadet Corps and are governed by the national charity MSSC - the Marine Society & Sea Cadets.

We work partnership with the Royal Navy under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and receive corporate support from commercial shipping companies and the Maritime sector. Our core purpose is to celebrate Britain's maritime heritage and contribute to its future development by supporting young people as Sea Cadets.

The Edgware, Mill Hill & Borehamwood Sea Cadet Unit, TS Barrosa

The unit history is somewhat unchartered - but we believe the unit was founded in the late 1950's/early 1960's.

If you have any information about the units history, you may have been a cadet, local resident or member of a neighbouring unit. Any information is gratefully received!

The unit moved to our current premises in Flower Lane in late 2016 - under the command of Chief Petty Officer (SCC) Dean Hagger who took over command from Lt (SCC) Tebby RNR in 2014.


Who We Are


Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact
Patron: HM The Queen
A charity registered in England and Wales 313013 and in Scotland SC037808