The first Sea Cadet unit was established in 1854 at Whitstable in Kent, created by communities wanting to give young people instruction on a naval theme. Traditionally old seafarers provided training while local businessmen funded the Unit Headquarters.

The tradition of community - based Sea Cadet Units continues today with 400 across the UK each with charitable status enabling them to raise funds to meet their running costs. All Units are members of the Sea Cadet Corps and are governed by the national charity MSSC - the Marine Society & Sea Cadets.

We work partnership with the Royal Navy under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and receive corporate support from commercial shipping companies and the Maritime sector. Our core purpose is to celebrate Britain's maritime heritage and contribute to its future development by supporting young people as Sea Cadets.

Staff Members

Officer In Charge - PO(SCC) Frances Mitchell

Vacant - Executive Officer

PO(SCC) Jonny Farr - Training Officer
APO(SCC) Jonathan Brown - Boats Officer
PPO(SCC) Jacob Langford
CI(SCC) Simon Thompson
CI(SCC) Helen Devereux
CI(SCC) Danielle Blackburn
CI(SCC) Charlie Frost
CI(SCC) Harry Avard
CI(SCC) Bret Crabtree

Chaplain(SCC) Ian Froom - Unit Chaplain

Unit Assistants 
Mrs Sherry Valentine - Administration Officer
Mr Ian Schofield Beevers
Mr Peter Morgan
Mr Nigel Jorey
Mr Malcolm Alford

UMT Members

Cdre Peter Fish CBE RN Rtd.

Vice President
Mr Robert Hichens

UMT (Unit Management Team)

Mrs Gill Grant - Chairperson
Mr Gordon Everard - Vice Chairperson
Mr John Girdlestone - Treasurer
Lt Cdr Mike Lynch RN (ex officio)
Mr David Charles
Mrs Vicki Bennett
Mrs Dawn Blackburn
Mrs Alison Avard
Mr Roy Wright


Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact
Patron: HM The Queen
A charity registered in England and Wales 313013 and in Scotland SC037808